Social Capital Can Start Your Business

brokeMany people ask me how we got our business started with hardly no cash cushion, investors, or loans. They look at our team page and usually are pleasantly surprised with the strong team of people G2N has built.

There is a traditional philosophy that a new business MUST start with a substantial amount of cash flow in order to be successful, but that has changed since the internet has become such a huge market for businesses. At Going 2 Natural, we are creating a business model for people who never thocash flowught they could start a business because they live for instance like us, pay check to pay check. I will be truthful, it is a huge amount of work and you do have to keep “your day job” so to speak in order to pay your personal bills. So in essence you will be working two jobs for 2-5 years depending on your determination.

It is also important to know you will end up spending a few hundred dollars in the beginning but it will not be at all the cost endured had you tried to start a store front business with out the social capital to survive.

I must reference Ray Zoller’s quote from his current blog, Many Hands Make Light Work which left me thinking.

“You can make more friends in two months by becoming interested in other people than you can in two years by trying to get other people interested in you.”

I was so impressed with this quote I actually posted it on my G2N’s intranet page for all my team members to ponder. In my opinion, there is no financial capital with out social capital, so why not concentrate on that first. In this day and age people are able to create online businesses with a very professional look on a minimal budget. Thinking outside the box is key!

thinkoutside box

I wrote an article, Organic Business Growth : Networking which gives an overview on how we started building our social capital with  spending absolutely no money. We had a vision and we networked and found people who had the same vision and goals we did.

Once we had a team to get started with, we were ready to build content and a plan. Creating a website for your business and blogging is vital regardless of the business you are in and social media platforms are a must! Of course having a cash cushion is always nice, but if you aren’t able to save one, there are ways to get your business started with out breaking you or your bank account. It will take longer to build financial capital this way but the stakes of your money being lost and the amount lost is much lower. The most you will lose is your time.  But if you are patient, have a realistic plan and willing to do the research and work, it can and will come together.

Here are a couple resources I have used personally when building social capital:

Craigslist- This is where I recruited some of my best team members(now share holders). I found and interviewed dozens of people who held the same passion that my husband and I did. We picked a dozen of people that we felt came from diverse backgrounds, but held the same goals we did and our team has been G2N’s driving force ever since.

Facebook- This is not just for your fans or customers. It is important to focus on liking, following, and supporting groups that are in your similar line of work or industry. In turn they will usually support you back. This is a great way to make connections and meet potential people you could do business with in the future.

Your University– I met many great people through my two degree programs and I use some of their contacts to this day. It is important to send an email every once in while if you think they will be beneficial to your business in the future. Keep your business fresh  in their mind while making sure you show interest in what they are pursuing as well. It is great to share support and have someone who shares the passion of entrepreneurship; because every business needs the basics and the more people you know the easier the job will get done.

The famous quote I continually live by which gets me through even my toughest days is:

If there is a will, there is way!

if there is a will

Do not give up. Think outside the box. Use the resources you have to create new business relationships and avenues that will further your brand along as you create your vision and business plan. No, this is not the way to make a quick buck. What it will do, is build a strong foundation, with a strong unit of people which will give your business the chance to built its brand without occurring huge costs or debts. You have a greater chance of maintaining control and eventually building wealth. The best of both worlds! So trek on my fellow entrepreneur and remember sometimes slow and steady can win the race!

Resources:

Wasserman, Noam. Chapter 1. The Founder’s Dilemmas: Anticipating and Avoiding the Pitfalls That Can Sink a Startup. Princeton, NJ: Princeton UP, 2012. N. pag. Print.

Zoller, Ray. “Capital Growth.” Capital Growth. N.p., n.d. Web. 07 Sept. 2015. <http://capitolgrowth1.com/2015/09/06/many-hands-make-light-work/&gt;.

Olenski, Steve. “Nearly One Third Of Online Consumers Trust A Stranger Over A Brand.” Forbes. Forbes Magazine, n.d. Web. 08 Sept. 2015. <http://www.forbes.com/sites/marketshare/2013/01/03/nearly-one-third-of-online-consumers-trust-a-stranger-over-a-brand/&gt;.

7 thoughts on “Social Capital Can Start Your Business

  1. Hi Serrieh,

    Really enjoyed your post! It is always great and inspiring to see how you grew your business to what it is now by growing organically, slowly, and lots of hard work. You make some really good points with the four resources you have listed, especially Facebook(or many of the other social media platforms). Supporting like minded businesses can gain you traction and support for your own business through these social platforms.The images you insert into your posts are very visually appealing and help portray the idea your getting across. Great to see quotes from other members of the cohort in each others blogs. Goes to show how we can learn and inspire one another.

    Chris

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I never would have thought to use Craigslist for a recruitment portal. That is great thinking outside the box with social media. I also love hearing about your personal experiences with your business. I can see your passion with it through your hard work with the startup by keeping a “day job” as well. I feel like if I get to startup my idea, it would have to be my second job. I also agree with Chris that your visuals help catch your eye as you read through your post. You have lots of inspiration to share with others in your blog. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Serrieh,
    I love your post! It was enjoyable and informative to read. Kudos to you that all your hard work (slow and steady wins the race) is paying off and you have a successful business. I enjoyed your post so much I am going to go back now and read your other post Organic Business Growth : Networking.

    Like

    1. Thanks so much for the positive feedback. Let me know what you think once you read it. I really have tried to make our mark by thinking outside the box and building our business with the resources we have on hand. But we still haven’t made it and have a long way to go, but I truly believe it is something that can be done!

      Like

  4. Hi Serrieh,

    Great post! I actually just shared the quote “You can make more friends in two months by becoming interested in other people than you can in two years by trying to get other people interested in you” with my mother. I’m slowly trying to get her to turn her hobby into a business.One of her major concerns is she does not have a network of friends. I called my mother in to read your post and I explain to her that organic growth with social capital has worked for G2N and tons of other businesses. Your post was very inspirational and has helped me prove a point. Thank you.

    Like

  5. Wow, I love the tips you gave. I agree it is important to look at your social capital first. You also used very good networks to find a talented team. Please know that I am taking notes and will be following in your footsteps. Thanks again for your post!

    Like

  6. Hi Serrieh, I love your post. This was very informative as you presented a different perspective for the amount of cash required to start a business. I also love the fact that you used Ray’s quote from one of his blog posts, Many Hands Make Light Work,“You can make more friends in two months by becoming interested in other people than you can in two years by trying to get other people interested in you.” As I seriously consider starting a business, this statement really resonates with me. Great post. Thank you.

    Michelle Ballard

    Like

Leave a comment